la petite mort

I wanted to share one of my favourite songs. “La Petite Mort” by Coeur de Pirate. The violins in it are gorgeous … it’d make a beautiful violin/ piano duet. I never get sick of this song, it feels like a dreamy waltz. The song has dynamics to give goosebumps. I’ve got a weakness for waltzes with swooping violins. The French lyrics are followed by the English translation below.

Fan fact! This song was in the TV show Orphan Black. While watching it, I nearly shit myself (figure of speech of course) because my FAVOURITE SONG just appeared in the most unlikely of places.**Spoiler Alert** It is known as the theme song of lesbian Cosima and bisexual Delphine, which made me absolutely FLIP. Favourite song + gay lovers = holy crap! I only watched Orphan Black for these two. And yes I included their sexual identities because … representation!!! But I stopped after Delphine died, which seriously pissed me off, because for some  reason, gay couples in Netflix TV shows are always torn apart by a death (*cough cough* The 100 *cough cough*). The song is quite fitting though … since it describes death and not wanting make a lover sad/worry if one reveals one’s one suffering.

Song here in case you didn’t catch the hyperlink the first time.

French lyrics:

“La Petite Mort”

Le temps d’un souffle coupé
Par un soir tardif d’été
Les anges partirent avant
Et leurs visages tachés de blanc
Je crois qu’il est trop tard
Pour t’avouer que j’ai mal
À mon cœur mourant
Et mes souvenirs tachés de blanc Si l’on me perd, sache que je serai la tienne
Et au creux de ses bras, la mort nous bercera
Car si l’on me perd, c’est seulement pour rester la tienne
Et au creux de ses bras, la mort nous bercera

La pluie coule sur mes tempes
La foudre chante ta descente
Blottie contre ma vie
Ton rire résonne et puis s’enfuit
Je crois qu’il est trop tard
Pour te dire que ça fait mal
Mon cœur n’est plus comme avant
Car il s’endort tout doucement

English translation:

The Little Death

In the space of a breath
On a late summer evening
The angels left first
And their faces stained white
I think that it’s too late
To admit to you that I’m hurting
With my dying heart
And my memories stained white
If they lose me, know that I’ll be yours,
And nestled in his arms, death will cradle us
Because if they lose me,
It’s only so I remain yours
And nestled in his arms, death will cradle us

The rain runs down my temples
The lightning sings your descent
Huddled up against my life
Your laugh resonates and then flees
I think that it’s too late
To admit to you that I’m hurting
My heart is not like it was before
Because it softly falls asleep

Leave a Reply

