Personality and Playlists- Day 01

day 01 – Your favorite song

Hayley Kiyoko- “Cliff’s Edge”

Why is this my favorite song recently? Well for starters, it is sung and written by a bisexual woman of colour!! YASS, REPRESENT!!! I saw her in concert when she went to Vancouver, and seriously, she is a major advocate for women’s and LGBTQIA2S+ rights. I remember the moment she walked on stage, she encouraged everyone to be who they wanted to be, as this was a safe space for expression and all forms of identity. It was so touching to hear that, because I’ve never been in a LGBT+ safe space before… I’m selectively out to trusted friends, but still super paranoid about someone that I don’t want finding out. As a result, I stay out of safe spaces and any pride related things to reduce suspicion. Sure, in Canada same-sex marriage is legal, but that doesn’t prevent prejudice or casual hurtful comments. Discrimination still happens in some Canadian communities.

The video is basically self-explanatory. It makes me feel adventurous. I interpret the lyrics as being about the feeling of adrenaline when doing something daring, and pushing those limits because it feels addicting.

***A mild content warning for drowning***

“Cliff’s Edge”

Swing a little further, higher
Underneath the big top trees
Scrape my knees, whatever, uh huh
I’m gonna let them bleed
Got no turning back, I’mma flirt with that
Get a little closer

Cliff’s edge, you turn me on
You lead me on
You got me on
A cliff’s edge, where I belong
You got me on
And turn me on
I wanna feel that sea breeze

Love until we burn up, fire
Do whatever gets you seen
Kiss me with adventure
Til I forget my name
Chills run down my back, I’mma flirt with that
Get a little closer

Cliff’s edge, you turn me on
You lead me on
You got me on
A cliff’s edge, where I belong
You got me on
You turn me on
I wanna feel that sea breeze

Closing in closer to you
This could take all night
Caving and crumbling on your
Hips, your lips, they’re mine

Cliff’s edge, you turn me on
You lead me on
You got me on
A cliff’s edge, where I belong
You got me on
And turn me on
I wanna feel that sea breeze

I wanna feel that sea breeze

Leave a Reply

